Almighty Fighting Championship 6

Saturday night saw another action packed card from the impressive Almighty Fighting Championship promotion. With an ever growing reputation for matching the hottest amateur prospects in the region, and throughout the country, AFC also puts a wealth of professional fighters on their stacked cards.

With two pro fights and sixteen amateur fights on the card, four of which were AFC title fights, Saturday nights event has been deemed by many in attendance as the best yet.

Starting in April 2016, the latest instalment played out to a very well attended O2 Academy in Leeds. With previous events featuring the likes of Fabian Edwards, Jack Grant, Jenaid Ebanks and Justin Burlinson (to name but a few), expectations were high on a night that included a 5 round battle between Joanne Doyle and Louise Hiller, a monstrous heavyweight clash between champion Mick Parkin and Dawid Oskar and probable upset of the night in Ben Crawley defeating welterweight champion, Johnny Brocklesby.

Although virtually impossible to pick a fight of the night, stand out performances included The Latvian Express, Madars Fleminas, submitting Ashley Gibson, Sebastian Sroka going toe to toe with Simon Boult and Simeon Ottley’s three round encounter with Jakub Karol. Noteable mentions also have to made for impressive debutant Jamie Camozzi and Jabeed Rahman, whose savage armbar finished off Emil Niedzwiecki. All in all, it’s fair to say that every fight was worthy of being on the card.

Extremely well run, and with the aforementioned reputation for putting on amazing fights, Almighty Fighting Championship is here to stay and with good reason.

Professional Card

Danny Randolph def. Danny Stirk via submission (side choke) at Round 1, 3:28
Steven Hooper def. Patryk Krzak via submission (rear-naked choke) at Round 1, 2:57

Amateur Titles

Luke Westwood def. Mateusz Piechocki via submission (armbar) at Round 3, 0:29 to win the AFC bantamweight title
Louise Hiller def. Joanne Doyle to become the new AFC women’s bantamweight champion
Ben Crawley def. Jonny Brocklesby via submission (knee bar) at Round 4, 0:11 to win the AFC welterweight title
Mick Parkin def. Dawid Oskar via submission (rear-naked choke) at Round 1, 2:19 to retain the AFC heavyweight title

Amateur Card

Madars Fleminas def. Ashley Gibson via submission (guillotine) at Round 1, 0:52
George Smith def. Fraser Cook via unanimous decision
Sebastian Sroka def. Simon Boult via unanimous decision
Josh Mottram def. Warren Mason via submission (rear-naked choke) at Round 1, 0:00
Scott Butters def. Nicolae Pirogan via unanimous decision
Jabeed Rahman def. Emil Niedzwiecki via submission (armbar) at Round 1, 2:59
Jamie Camozzi def. Jack Flanagan via TKO at Round 1, 2:18
Simeon Ottley def. Jakub Krol via split decision
Brandon Elwell def. Harry Ettridge via majority decision
Elliott Dring-Hill def. Grant Lyle via submission (guillotine) at Round 1, 2:27
Robbie Brown def. Craig Skelton via submission (rear-naked choke) at Round 1, 0:59
Jordan Mawer def. Jay Eggleston via submission (guillotine) at Round 1, 2:29


Leave a Reply